The One With The Shutterbug Rediscovered

What should be my next lens?

1.) Canon EF 28mm f/1.8 USM 56,290円

From the-digital-picture.com.

A 50mm might be the best focal length in 35mm photograpghy. However, my Kiss X2 has a cropped sensor (At 22.2×14.8mm, it is even smaller than a “default” APS-C size of 22.3×14.9mm!) So the 50mm behaves more like a 80mm.

I am starting to see the narrowness of this pseudo-50mm on my APS-C sensor. To get a true 50mm (in a full 35mm context), I would need an approximate 35mm lens and this 28mm seems to be the right candidate to fit the bill.

And I am simply swooning at the F1.8 speed.

2.) Canon EF-S10-22mm F3.5-4.5 USM 72,520円

From the-digital-picture.com.

I have seen some sample shots from this ultra-wide zoom but it’s really more of a landscape lens.

newyork-photosblog.com shoots mostly with this lens. You can see some samples shots there.

The choice of lens is highly dependent on my decision to get a full-frame body (the Canon EOS 5D Mark II is sounding really good for now) in the near future.

The 1st picture below shows the 50mm lens mounted on a full frame 35mm body while the 2nd shows that mounted on a body with an APS-C-sized sensor (an 80mm equivalent.)

Both from dpreview.com.

Argh. Canon lenses are so darn expensive. Hopefully the DFS at Gimpo sells them cheaper.

Sent my EF 50mm f1.8 II for another test run over the weekend.

I love my 50mm Prime. And it’s so fast at F1.8. Oh, and the sharpness, ooh la la. And till I get other lenses, I’m enjoying every minute of this 50mm “I-can-bring-everywhere” Prime.

From dpreview.com.

I have uninstalled Photoshop on my Fujitsu laptop for the following reasons:

1.) My 5-year-old laptop is too old. Firefox is crawlingly show. Needless to say, running Photoshop was excruciatingly painful.

2.) I couldn’t edit (not even to crop or add comments) any pictures as there was not enough disk-space to create a new layer. Lol.

The shutterbug in me has been awoken! You have been warned.

~ by tutousan on August 30, 2009.

One Response to “The One With The Shutterbug Rediscovered”

  1. quick practise more! for my wedding next year! ;P

Leave a Reply

 
