The One With The Shutterbogeyman

A short discussion with a colleague earlier this week reminded me of this cartoon strip that I saw a couple of weeks back.

From http://whattheduck.net

“I think Nikon shoots better coz all the better pics that I saw were taken with Nikon cameras/lenses”, claiming that  . This coming from someone who bought the EF-S 60mm f/2.8 Macro USM and the EF-S 18-200 mm F3.5-5.6 IS, I was flabbergasted. Not able to tell if she was joking, I was on the brink of tearing my hair out.

“Oh com’on!”, I assured her. “Your EOS450’s fine!”, going on to show her the various functions (Live-view(!), mirror lock-up) that she never knew existed on her camera, at the same time explaining to her that cleaning the mirror with cotton swabs will not get rid of the dust spots that appear on her pictures. If it’s not the lens then it has got to be the sensor, my dear, the sensor.

Yumi@flickr shows an relentless eye for good photos with her EOS400D. That ought to tell you that your body more than capable of taking good pictures.

I can now understand why Canon lenses are so darn expensive.

Canon Lens Production (Part 1)

Canon Lens Production (Part 2)

Canon Lens Production (Part 3)

On a side-note, my current “equipment list” (as photo enthusiasts call it) would look something like that.

Canon EOS 450D
Canon EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS (Kit lens)
Canon EF-S 55-250mm f/4-5.6 IS (Kit lens)
Canon EF-S 17-55mm f/2.8 USM IS <- this is my general purpose lens
Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II

And my “wish-list” to boot:
Tokina 11-16mm f/2.8 AT-X or Sigma 10–20mm f/4–5.6 EX DC HSM or any wide non-fisheye prime that is at least 10mm
Canon EF 70-200mm f/4.0 L IS USM

~ by tutousan on November 19, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
